jonubian

Word Wisdom

In Commentary, Contemplations, Words on August 19, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Words without thoughts never to heaven go ~ Shakespeare

I apologize for neglecting you all, as somehow, twitter has become my new blogspot. I attribute my frequent, sometimes ten in a row, tweets to my Muse grabbing hold of me and not relinquishing control until I am able to fully commit her words to the universe. Her words, like those of Djehuty (Toth in Greek), must be pronounced in that moment.

Djehuty is the Kemetic Neter (God) considered to be Ra’s heart and tongue, and the only Neter that can translate His will. The Greek translation of his name is believed by Kemetologist to be where the word thought originates.  Africans, and yes Kemet-Egypt is a part of Africa, have always understood the power in the translation of thoughts through the words we speak, write, and commit into being. In short, our words become our essence and our actions.

Do you not believe me? Take a moment to view Dr. Masura Emoto’s study concerning the crystalization of water. In part of his experiement glasses of water were exposed to negative and positive words. The water in the glasses crystalized differently, with the negative words creating dark sludge-like crystalizations.  If negative and positive words can affect water in such a manner, imagine how they can affect the heart of men.

Part of the reason that I chose writing and literature as a focus of my academic studies, and the reason that I write poetry, live my life on twitter, and bother you all with my blogs, is because I feel a close and personal attachment to word transmission (I include written and spoken words in this definition).  Words affect me deeply and concretely, and my latest life lesson has been to realize that others do not share this same connection.  We are socialized to believe that words can never hurt us, which is one of the greatest fallacies propagated as cruel words leave the deepest scars and are the hardest to heal from. By that same standard, kind words can deliver us, resurrect us, and free us; even if only from ourselves- which is why we prosper from self-affirmation.

Beautiful ones- I said all of that to say, choose you words wisely as they create the person you are.  Also realize the positive and negative words you say form and transform others; it is a very cumbersome but honest realization.

Sade beautifully illustrates my thoughts of today in her song “Every Word”. Enjoy…

  1. And this is where our bond lies…and why nothing shall break it.

    Let that word continue to go forth…listen to your muse and let her speak.

  2. I agree with you whole-heartedly. I am very much an advocate for ‘watching my words.’ Words (written/spoken) have SO much power in our lives and the lives around us. The resonate/ resound further than one could imagine. That’s part of the reason why songs have the power to move us. Well quality songs at least.

    This is why I appreciate writers, poets etc. because they KNOW the power of their words/messages and choose them wisely whilst allowing them to flow through them. They can find that balance and create an amazing piece.

    Either way, you are so right about the power of words. We need to chose them more carefully as they are way more powerful than we give them credit for.

    Peace Queen. Well said.

  3. I agree with you wholeheartedly. I am very much an advocate for ‘watching my words.’ Words (written/spoken) have SO much power in our lives and the lives around us. The resonate/ resound further than one could imagine. That’s part of the reason why songs have the power to move us. Well quality songs at least.

    This is why I appreciate writers, poets etc. because they KNOW the power of their words/messages and choose them wisely whilst allowing them to flow through them. They can find that balance and create an amazing piece.

    Either way, you are so right about the power of words. We need to chose them more carefully as they are way more powerful than we give them credit for.

    Peace Queen. Well said.

  4. I appreciate you. Your words have power.

    I enjoy playing with words, meaning, I enjoy manipulating words that result in poetic verses (and tweets).

    I love that we have words to express our greatest joys and deepest sorrows. I have, on occasion, found that I am at a loss for words. There have been times in my life, especially recently, that I could not find words to describe my feelings/emotions. The absence of words also has power. The silence this creates is awesome. Those moments are always etched to memory, simply because there is no statement to accompany the memory while storing.

    Perhaps I have used too many “words” in my comments. I often ramble. My words will stop here…

  5. Spoken like a true daughter of Esu…the master communicator. Love it! I gotta stop by here more often 🙂

  6. Yes! This is definitely in my top 5 favorite blog posts that I’ve ever read (outside of my own of course). Not only did I learn something today (negative words create sludgy water?!), but reading your words is truly a pleasurable experience. Your word choices are always impeccable and thoughtful, which I’m guessing reflects your thoughts. I dig THAT.

    I agree with you that words are very powerful and they can leave some of the deepest emotional scars…That “sticks and stones” song is bullshit!

    Words must be chosen wisely and with care at all times because…

    “You can change your world by changing your words… Remember, death and life are in the power of the tongue.” Joel Osteen

  7. first or foremost THANK YOU for sharing your words with us. I truly enjoy your tweets! 🙂
    I read ALOT! so much that when my tweeting begin to interrupt my “reading” time, I had to take a hiatus. But I must say, this is one of the most profound and thought-provoking blog Iay have ever read.

    I tell people ALL the time these two things:

    1- There is a little truth in everything we say.
    &
    2- Say what you mean and mean what you say.

    I confess…as a true Taurean woman…I have quite a temper,
    and often times it’s not what I say, but how I say it.
    In my writing…mostly about love, loss, & relationship angst
    I try to convey honesty and raw emotion…because
    sometimes it’s needed. I have a “target” audience per se
    but, I am simply writing about the less popular human
    experiences. My candor has been startling to some, so I
    admit, I keep a lot of my writing private…including my tweets.
    Because I’ve learned…some simply don’t know the meaning
    and definitions of a LOT of words. Some invent their own
    in fact. (smile) However, as a writer and lover of words I guess
    I too…like you…Speak and so many others were chosen to
    share. I often wonder IF I’m really “moving” souls with
    my words…and somehow some way, the Creator will send me a
    sign.

    As I continue on my lyrical, and literary journey, I will keep
    these words, your words, and inspiration tucked away neatly
    in my soul. And remember I am creating ME, with the words
    I speak and spew in the universe! 😉

    Be Blessed!
    Billie

Leave a Reply

