jonubian

Black Self Hate and Reparations.

In Commentary on June 10, 2009 at 4:38 pm

African HolocaustA young white man sent me a message on myspace asking my opinion on a few things Black. Apparently he saw some comments that I posted on another page regarding my feelings on the last Common album and admitted that although he is a big Common fan, he does not approve of the reparations movement and wanted insight into “black internalized racism” and “white guilt”. Random right? Well, the older I get the more I realize that there are no coincidences in life.

So you know I kicked about three pages of jewels his way-complete with reading suggestions (cause I’m a nerd like that).  I was not surprised that he disagreed with most of my opinions disguised as fact (really aren’t facts just well researched and stated opinions). I don’t get how whites can have so much love for and identify with artist like Common, Dead Prez, Damian Marley, Nas etc. and stilll contend that black people don’t deserve reparations for our struggles; I should somehow overstand that it’s similar to white men raping and impregnating Black slave women and murdering or selling their flesh and blood children…it’s not supposed to make sense.  So I roll on, with another battle partially won.

What did surprise and frustrate me however was chopping game with my brother in law who admitted two things to me that made me very conscious of an internal sickness that we all suffer with:

1. He said that he doesn’t think that black people should be paid reparations.

2. He said that the Maafa (my word choice of course) and the Jewish Holocaust were close as far as horror and atrocity.

I quickly began my spill about how every other ethnic group in the world who has been oppressed and brutalized have been paid reparations, including indigenous Americans, Jews, Vietnamese,Chinese, Japanese etc. I then asked what made him feel that he and his people deserved less than the others, when we suffered more than a majority of these other groups?

I also explained that his comments about the Jewish Holocaust and the Maafa being similar was due to propaganda and the perpetuation of a Jewish agenda that will forever bombard us with images of their suffering. The Jewish Holocaust lasted around five to ten years (I’ve studies timelines- correct me if I am wrong), while the Maafa lasted over four hundred years if you begin counting from the time when Europeans set foot on African soil until they left their “colonies”. The number of lives lost is incomparable; period.

You must admire the Jews for the love, pride, and solidarity that they demonstrate regarding their race and struggle.  There theme of “We must never forget” rings in the ears of mankind everytime people suffer and go unrescued (well except in cases like New Orleans, Rwanda, Sudan, or Haiti, but I digress).

So how come black people don’t feel the same way? Well the brotha Cornell West sums it up beautifully.

“White supremacists ideology is based first and foremost on the degradation of black bodies in order to control them…..By convincing them that their bodies are ugly, their intellect is inherently underdeveloped, their culture is less civilized, and their future warrants less concern than that of other peoples.

Cornel West 1954-

Please read the linked article “Mental Enslavement” written by Kimani Hehusi  http://twurl.cc/13aq

  1. i really love this post. and also, i love the incorporation of cornel west’s race matters. LOVE THAT BOOK, especially the part about the black body!

  2. wonderful! i’m glad i’m plugged in so i can read more of your mind’s interworkings and musings…

    love it sis!

Leave a Reply

