jonubian

Change

In Contemplations on June 2, 2009 at 5:21 pm

All that you touch
You Change.

All that you Change
Changes you.

The only lasting truth
Is Change.

God
Is Change.

This wonderful mantra was borrowed from EARTHSEED: THE BOOKS OF THE LIVING and is featured in the beginning of Octavia Butler’s Parable of the Sower . I am extremely excited about reading this book as I understand it deals directly with change and, at this very moment, I am burgeoning on change and transition. As a scorpion, my ability to channel the phoenix and rise from the ashes has been a blessing to my struggles through this beautiful life. But this current change feels as if it will be the greatest of my life. I am both comatose and antsy, running in place, hurrying up to wait… But alas the only lasting truth is change, therefore I must acquiesce. We can not allow our fears to stop our progress. And me constantly wondering if my current choices are the right ones, only proves that they probably are not. We should not have to constantly contemplate our states of being.

I must add this amazing James Baldwin quote, because… well…he’s just amazing.

Most of us are about as eager to be changed as we were to be born, and go through our changes in a similar state of shock.

  1. I am also going through a moment of significant and life altering change. I am past my fear. I took steps forward. It seems as though change is our companion. This post (your words, mantra, and Baldwin quote) are exactly what I needed to read @ this moment. More than you will know. Thank you for sharing this. Thank you.

  2. You know when India.Arie said on her second album that the only thing constant in life is change, I thought to myself, so true! I really enjoyed how you talked about change and its permanence in our lives. We must not let fear dictate our lives. Live and Love out loud!

Leave a Reply

